“Here I Stand”

Unless I am convinced by proofs from Scriptures or by plain and clear reasons and arguments, I can and will not retract, for it is neither safe nor wise to do anything against conscience. Here I stand. I can do no other. God help me. Amen.

I finally took time to view the DVD depicting the crucial years in the life of Martin Luther. Who knows if they captured this climactic moment as it happened, but the words speak powerfully on their own. Obviously, not on a par with the inerrant Scriptures (though Acts 5:29 comes close in intent) Luther’s words have encouraged boldness on the part of Christians since the Reformation. I reviewed some history after watching, and found it interesting that the Emporer did not worry at first about Luther’s writings – he reasoned that a single friar who went contrary to the whole church could not possibly be right. Of course the Emporer did not understand the Scriptures are true whether everyone else gets it or not. Sometimes the “lone voice” must be heard.

Leave a Reply

