What Can Amy Have to Offer?

There are those that have determined that Amy Grant can offer nothing to the church these days. Tim Smith, a Mars Hill Church pastor, found that glib assumptions might not always reflect reality. Maybe the Lord is still working in her despite some failure?! I read something like that in the Bible – God used one or two people even after they messed things up. I trust that is true of me as well. I mean that in two ways. First, that God might use me despite my failings. Second, that I might remember that God seems to like using messy people (he has to, I don’t think there are any other kinds of people). I don’t think that means God just glosses over sin – repentance is a vital part of the process. And I tend to be a bit skeptical about the heart of those who seem to revel in their messy-ness and failure, sometimes using it as an excuse to continue in sin. I don’t think I’ve ever met anyone who has failed and experienced the loving discipline of God who is proud of the situation – they seem truly amazed at the grace and mercy of God and seem compelled to live well in response to such a great forgiveness. I’m not suggesting that fallen leaders can always be restored to leadership, nor that there are no consequences to sin. But God just might surprise some of us with what he does in and through someone who isn’t perfect.

God’s grace is unmerited by definition. What an amazing thing that he extends it to messy sinners like me. And Amy Grant – even if you don’t like her music.

Leave a Reply

