Old – A Personal Note

So … this week I had several “old” moments. You know, where my age seemed to be on display more than others. Like most people, I still think of myself as younger, 20ish or so, but that hasn’t been true for a good 35 years since I’ll be 57 next month. Since I’ve had gray hair since I was in my 20’s I’ve pretty much never taken offense when others think I’m older. I had a couple reminders this week that my age is catching up to my hair.

  • The very nice, but obviously non-pc, waitress at a favorite local restaurant asked if I was a member of the “old-people’s” club. I am. I like the discount. And I wasn’t offended – just reminded that I am looking more my age than ever.
  • I found myself reminiscing about the “old days” of church communications along with two administrative assistants at church. One of them chuckled with me as she remembered Gestetner duplication and mimeograph machines and how long it took to produce church bulletins and such … especially if you made even one small mistake that had to be corrected. The other assistant, a young woman under 30, was polite and properly appreciative of all the suffering we older saints had endured. She didn’t even roll her eyes in our presence. However, I think she was still thinking that her PC was a bit too slow. I walked away thinking … oh boy, I’ve become an “old guy”!
  • A young rude dude barged into the line at McDonald’s pushing aside a woman with 3 small kids. As seems to be the case “these days” the line wasn’t clearly defined and I politely (really!) mentioned that he might want to wait at the end of the line as there were 6-7 others ahead of him, etc. He turned and said “what do you know ‘old timer'” along with a couple of other dismissive and rude comments as if I was somehow too old to understand the way things work. I know it wasn’t about me – this kid was just rude – but the “old timer” stung a bit. I did appreciate the little girl who said to her mom in a loud whisper, “Mommy, we aren’t supposed to talk to “grampa people” like that”.
  • I came across this site last night and found myself realizing that I recognized far too much. Especially the pictures from 1960-ish Disneyland.

All that being said, for the most part, I enjoy being older, and hopefully a bit wiser. The Bible reminds us of that too.

Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is gained in a righteous life – Proverbs 16:31 (ESV)

The glory of young men is their strength, but the splendor of old men is their gray hair – Proverbs 20:29 (ESV)

2 responses to “Old – A Personal Note

  • normalien

    🙂 Old timer, isn’t it a good feeling to muse about a long and successful life with satisfaction? And btw, I liked this piece very much!

  • jennyjack

    Ahhhh…to be old enough for the 10% discount! I think you are aging well…like all the best cheese and wine:-).

Leave a Reply

