Insensitive to Sin?

I’ve been sorting through my resource files and came across this convicting list of practical questions to consider as an exercise in discerning whether we have become insensitive to sin. They are worth consideration on a regular basis … especially in light of the danger that lurks when we don’t pay attention close attention to our souls. Since I can easily post them because Amy (my wonderful assistant) was so kind type them, here they are:

  • Have I complained for so long, that I don’t recognize it as sin?
  • Am I so impatient with my family/co-workers that I’ve forgotten how comforting the grace of God is to me?
  • Have I gossiped for so long that I don’t remember how to carry on a conversation that isn’t talking about other people’s lives?
  • Have I been doing things in my own strength for so long, that I’ve forgotten the excitement of watching God work?
  • Am I so tight with my money that I’ve forgotten it holds no security?
  • Have I not taken a spiritual “risk” for so long, that I’ve forgotten what it is to trust Christ out on the cutting edge of life?
  • Have I flirted (in thought or action) with the opposite sex for so long, that I begin to feel that I am immune to the danger?
  • Has it been so long since I’ve chosen to live in moment-by-moment submission, that I don’t remember what abundant living can feel like?
  • Have I chosen not to forgive for so long, that I can’t remember real freedom?
  • Have I chosen to blame others for my problem for so long, that I can’t remember what the view of reality looks like without my screen of dark resentment?
  • Have I heard the Word and not applied it in my life for so long, that my daily walk grows stale and academic?
  • Am I so in to material things, that I’ve forgotten the discipline of saying “no” to myself?
  • Have I exclaimed, prayed, cried my love for the Lord but not backed it up with obedience for so long, that His heart weeps at my hypocrisy and lack of power?

Lord, please keep me daily aware of my sin and humble enough to confess it so that I might be pure and useful to you.

“For those who live according to the flesh set their minds on the things of the flesh, but those who live according to the Spirit set their minds on the things of the Spirit. For to set the mind on the flesh is death, but to set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace. For the mind that is set on the flesh is hostile to God, for it does not submit to God’s law; indeed, it cannot.” (Romans 8:5-7, ESV)

To the best of my knowledge these were adapted from a list first written by June Marshall of Grace Church in San Luis Obispo, CA.

Leave a Reply

