Not a Puzzle

Timothy Stoner writes in The God Who Smokes:

“… we assume that God must conform to our standards of logic, justice and fairness. We are convinced that he is a puzzle to be solved and that life is a detective story to be unraveled. But we are wrong.”

I needed this reminder. OK, I still need this reminder. Far too often I want to figure things out, to make things work the way I think that they should. And I have a tendency to want to “make life work” (in words of a counselor) rather than trust God when the don’t. I hope I’m get better at living in mystery and uncertainty even though it isn’t always fun or easy.

By the way, Stoner concludes that following God is not like reading a detective novel, but rather a wonderful romance … a metaphor worth considering.

One response to “Not a Puzzle

Leave a Reply

