Life Update: Against Common Sense

“What were you thinking!?” seems to be the primary response I get when I tell the story of our recent life choices. I understand the reaction since very little of what we are doing seems to fit with common sense. And these are big decisions that include resigning a nice position, and selling our home in the midst of one of the deepest recessions in 70 years.

I have to admit that it is a tad scary. Yet we have a settled confidence that God is working in the midst of the changes in our lives. We are well aware of the fact that our choices may bring difficult consequences, and we hope to remember well lessons learned in our early years of marriage and ministry:

"Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content. I know how to be brought low, and I know how to abound. In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need. (Philippians 4:11-12, ESV)

While I don’t like revisiting the lessons that may come, I hope that we will continue to remember the simple secret:

I can do all things through him who strengthens me." (Philippians 4:13, ESV)

Leave a Reply

