Reflections on a Number

  As I write this post, Mrs. Random (aka Linda) and I are just a week shy of celebrating 38 years of marriage. Talk about changes. When we married in our very early 20’s we had no clue what was to come. We knew so little. But I did know thatweddingPic1 Linda was beautiful, she loved me, I loved her, we were probably going to be hungry a lot, live in low rent places, have amazing children, and that we would need to rely on the grace and mercy of God a lot.

We didn’t know yet how much sin would affect us, how much children would cost (nor how wonderful they would be), how hard it is to watch a child suffer, how much we could hurt each other, how much we could build each other up, how scary life can become. We knew we could trust God, but we hadn’t really had to put it to the test yet. Now thirty-eight years later we know a bit more in practice what we only assumed on our wedding day.

We have not arrived yet. I really know so little. But I do know that Linda is beautiful, she loves me, I love her, we are probably going to be hungry a bit, and we’ll be in lower rent places, we have amazing children, and we need to rely on the grace and mercy of God a lot!

2 responses to “Reflections on a Number

Leave a Reply

