Conviction from Oswald

I’m going through the daily devotional My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers once again.

Chambers in reflects on Paul’s statement, in 2 Timothy 4:6, that he is already being poured out as an offering, as a sacrifice. Chambers then encourages us to tell God we are ready to offered as a sacrifice for him. Sounds great, but then he goes on with hard-hitting application.

Then accept the consequences as they come, without any complaints, in spite of what God may send your way. God sends you through a crisis in private, where no other person can help you. From the outside your life may appear to be the same, but the difference is taking place in your will (Feb. 6 – My Utmost for His Highest).

OK, that’s the part I don’t like. I’m sure its just me but, when I give myself to be a living sacrifice the cost is not always what I’d like to pay. Somehow, I really don’t think the consequence should be so great. I mean, doesn’t God want to bless me?! But it seems like Chambers knows exactly what I might be thinking and continues with his development of the sacrifice metaphor with a calming reminder:

You must be willing to be placed on the altar and go through the fire; willing to experience what the altar represents–burning, purification, and separation for only one purpose–the elimination of every desire and affection not grounded in or directed toward God. But you don’t eliminate it, God does.

OK, God’s going to do all this in me. Yeah! But then Chambers adds, “…see to it that you don’t wallow in self-pity once the fire begins.  Being a living sacrifice is really more than just nice sounding spiritual words. It is costly. But so worth it.

Leave a Reply

