Are you Like Me?

People like me hate depending on another person or on circumstances beyond our control. We hate longing for something at we can’t supply or force to happen. We often don’t trust God to be able to deal with life where we are right now. To admit that we are dependent on things outside our control is sometimes a bit terrifying and sometimes we enter into a state of denial to “protect” ourselves from the pain we fear may be coming.

Author Larry Crabb believes that most people are like this. Whether he is correct or not, each one of us must consistently remember that being authentic means admitting the reality that we can’t control things. Being alive (rather than safely ‘protected’) means that we must enter into the fearful places we can’t govern and give up trying to be in control –  even if are control is “avoidance” of something. And it is there in the fearful places and the fearful times that we find our fully sovereign God is sufficient, and plotting our good (as John Piper says). I can’t say that I always enjoy the process, but I’m striving to wait on God. I’d bet that true of you too. Then again, I do get it wrong sometimes.

Even youths shall faint and be weary,
and young men shall fall exhausted; 
      but they who wait for the LORD shall renew their strength;
they shall mount up with wings like eagles; 
      they shall run and not be weary;
they shall walk and not faint. (Is 40:30–31; ESV)

One response to “Are you Like Me?

  • Gary Ericson

    I was just wrestling with this over the weekend, realizing that I’ve actually been wrestling with this for a few months now without knowing it. For me it came down to this: I believe that God has the power to carry out His will, and as He works in my life His goal is to accomplish what is best for me and the people around me – therefore if I am fearful of (or just don’t like) what’s happening (or not happening) then apparently I disagree with what God considers “best”. I think I can tend to view God’s “best” as being like vegetables: He’s working in me what’s good for me, but it’s not going to be pleasant so I just need to shut up and bear up under it. The flaw, then, is that while I have a good grasp of God’s power and sovereign will, I’m short on understanding – down inside where my attitudes are formed – His love for me and what that really means. So I guess I need to target my Bible reading and prayers for a while.

    Thanks, as always, for sharing your vulnerable thoughts.

Leave a Reply

