Care

imageIn the midst of completing church search team questionnaires and participating in a few interviews for pastor jobs I’ve had the opportunity to ponder the question of pastoral care. More specifically, what is the mark of effective care in a congregation? I’ve tried all kinds of definitions and word-smithing, but find that the following two components seem to still be true. It isn’t about how I define it, but rather what a person experiences in the church or group that I shepherd. I’m not saying I do this all that well, but it certainly provides a nice target.

A person is adequately cared for when he or she perceives that:

  • “someone in the church loves me” and
  • “if I need attention, I can get it without feeling guilty.”
One response to “Care

Leave a Reply

